Education in Early Years

Useful links to resources and articles looking at Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) 

In this section there are links to resources and information that provide an overview of EYFS education:


EYFS Framework: Learning and Development

Areas of Learning

Children will mostly be taught through games and play.

The areas of learning are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

Access the updated EYFS Framework unit here.


Conserving creativity in the Early Years

In this article Kathryn Solly, former Headteacher of Chelsea Open Air Nursery School and Children's Cente, discusses the creation of a premature formal curriculum stressing early literacy and numeracy versus a broader play-based learning approach (which includes developmentally appropriate literacy and numeracy). Read the article here